FreePOPs, K9 and PopTray and Yahoo issue

General discussion about PopTray. You love it? You hate it? Talk about it here.

Moderators: KY Dave, jojobear99, Rdsok

Post Reply
mudman7991
First Timer
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:42 pm

FreePOPs, K9 and PopTray and Yahoo issue

Post by mudman7991 » Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:05 am

Hi,
I am a new user of PopTray and K9. How to setup FreePOPs, K9 and PopTray with Yahoo account? I have followed the instruction as given by KY Dave but the Yahoo account lock me out.

The setup that I am using are as following:
For Poptray: Server: 127.0.0.1, Port:9999

For Yahoo: Username: 127.0.0.1/2000/myusername@yahoo.com, Password: mypassword.

When I setup in my e-mail client (Thunderbird) to retrieve e-mail through FreePOPs, I got no problems to retrieve it using the following setup:
Server: 127.0.0.1, Port: 2000, User name: myusername@yahoo.com, Password: mypassword

Currently I have over 200 mails on Yahoo server.

Can somebody please help me out to make a proper setup or what went wrong?

Cheers

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:02 pm

Your settings look correct.

Make sure K9 also has RIGHTS to access the internet through your FIREWALL.
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

mudman7991
First Timer
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:42 pm

Post by mudman7991 » Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:40 pm

Thanks Dave. I finally manage to get through, but after I increase the server time out in K9 configuration tab to 999 (maximum allowable).

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Tue Dec 18, 2007 6:26 pm

That's odd, my K9 setup is for 60 seconds and I can access Yahoo without problems.

I use AVG Free to scan incoming email.

What program do you have scanning your email on the way in, besides K9?
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

mudman7991
First Timer
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:42 pm

Post by mudman7991 » Tue Dec 18, 2007 10:17 pm

KY Dave wrote:That's odd, my K9 setup is for 60 seconds and I can access Yahoo without problems.

I use AVG Free to scan incoming email.

What program do you have scanning your email on the way in, besides K9?
I guess it is something to do with more than 200 e-mails remaining on the Yahoo server :oops:

I am using AntiVir PersonalEdition classic (free version) for my anti virus program. This free version AV program will not scanning the e-mail while downloading but only checking when opening it.

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Wed Dec 19, 2007 2:41 am

Yep, you are right. I now remember from the FreePOPs forums, that RussellS had written that for every email transferred there were two pages of html transferred. That's probably why it's timing out.

I think you can login to your account and move some of them to another folder then download 20 or so at a time with FreePOPs.

FreePOPs doesn't work very well for people that try to leave ALL their email on the server.
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests