PopTray will not minimize to tray

Found a serious/minor bug in PopTray? Tell me about it.

Moderators: KY Dave, jojobear99, Rdsok

Locked
popuser6
Still here
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:40 am

PopTray will not minimize to tray

Post by popuser6 » Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:49 am

I have set PopTray to open with Windows & minimized & to tray. This has always worked fine - up until now. Now, it opens with PopTray window displayed. No icon appears in system tray. If I then click on the "TO TRAY" icon, PopTray closes down. I cannot get it to be minimized in system tray!

Please help. Thanks. Love your program.

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Thu Dec 21, 2006 1:24 am

In PopTray on the OPTIONS TAB, GENERAL OPTIONS...
check the box for START MINIMIZED.

In PopTray on the OPTIONS TAB, USER INTERFACE...
check the box for X BUTTON MINIMIZES.
check the box for MINIMIZE TO TRAY.

SAVE OPTIONS, QUIT PopTray and RESTART PopTray for changes to take effect.

Also, PLEASE read and follow the directions in the thread linked below...
viewtopic.php?t=2942
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

popuser6
Still here
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:40 am

Post by popuser6 » Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:54 pm

KY Dave wrote:In PopTray on the OPTIONS TAB, GENERAL OPTIONS...
check the box for START MINIMIZED.

In PopTray on the OPTIONS TAB, USER INTERFACE...
check the box for X BUTTON MINIMIZES.
check the box for MINIMIZE TO TRAY.

SAVE OPTIONS, QUIT PopTray and RESTART PopTray for changes to take effect.

Also, PLEASE read and follow the directions in the thread linked below...
viewtopic.php?t=2942
Thanks for info. PT is now appearing in the tray on startup of Windows. However, the PT window is also displayed. This despite having checked "START MINIMIZED". What's the problem?? Thanks.

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Sat Dec 23, 2006 4:03 pm

There are a couple of reasons that I can think of...

one, you didn't click SAVE OPTIONS when you checked the box for START MINIMIZED.

or two, you have OPTIONS, GENERAL OPTIONS, the box checked for SHOW WINDOW ON NOTIFICATION and PopTray has found messages.
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

popuser6
Still here
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:40 am

Post by popuser6 » Sat Dec 23, 2006 9:50 pm

KY Dave wrote:There are a couple of reasons that I can think of...

one, you didn't click SAVE OPTIONS when you checked the box for START MINIMIZED.

or two, you have OPTIONS, GENERAL OPTIONS, the box checked for SHOW WINDOW ON NOTIFICATION and PopTray has found messages.
Actually, neither of those apply!! Can't figure it out.

salomon
First Timer
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:37 pm

Post by salomon » Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:43 pm

KY Dave wrote:In PopTray on the OPTIONS TAB, GENERAL OPTIONS...
check the box for START MINIMIZED.

In PopTray on the OPTIONS TAB, USER INTERFACE...
check the box for X BUTTON MINIMIZES.
check the box for MINIMIZE TO TRAY.

SAVE OPTIONS, QUIT PopTray and RESTART PopTray for changes to take effect.

Also, PLEASE read and follow the directions in the thread linked below...
viewtopic.php?t=2942
Hi,
probably I've found a solution to the problem:
I've set my options with:
X BUTTON MINIMIZES: unchecked

And now it work, because the X BUTTON close the program and theTO TRAY button minimize it to tray.

Hope this works for you too.

Carlo

salomon
First Timer
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:37 pm

Post by salomon » Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:52 am

mmm,
this morning it didn't work again but then I try this:
launch the program (it 's launched at startup)
close it with X button
launch it again
minimize with the "To Tray" button

et voilà :-)

Carlo

User avatar
Denn
Still here
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:22 pm
Location: Deep South U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by Denn » Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:41 pm

salomon wrote:mmm,
this morning it didn't work again but then I try this:
launch the program (it 's launched at startup)
close it with X button
launch it again
minimize with the "To Tray" button

et voilà :-)

Carlo
Thanks Carlo,
I've been having the same problem and tried your solution. It works fine, but I do wish there was a permanent solution to this problem rather than having to open the program, then close it and then open it again. It used to work fine. I could turn on my computer and know that poptray was working in the background, but without the icon in the tray showing, I didn’t know when my mail is coming in.

After saying that let me add that I have enjoyed having PopTray and now don't know what I would do without it. Being a Webmaster and having serveral websites running I have 7 email addresses that I have to keep up with constantly. PopTray makes my life easier. Now if we can just find a better solution to this tray icon thing.
PlanetDenn.com

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Mon Mar 10, 2008 2:44 am

The easiest solution is to not open PopTray on Startup. Windows is losing track of the icons when it is opening several things at once.

If you take PopTray out of the START MENU / STARTUP Folder and manually start PopTray Windows probably won't lose the icon.
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

User avatar
Denn
Still here
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:22 pm
Location: Deep South U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by Denn » Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:27 am

KY Dave wrote:The easiest solution is to not open PopTray on Startup. Windows is losing track of the icons when it is opening several things at once.

If you take PopTray out of the START MENU / STARTUP Folder and manually start PopTray Windows probably won't lose the icon.
Thanks Dave,

That sounds like a good work around. What you're saying makes complete sense. Half the time my Norton icons won't open either. I did not know about the windows problem with loading the icons during startup. Knowledge is good!
PlanetDenn.com

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests