Can´t get those plugins working

Writing and using PopTray plug-ins

Moderators: KY Dave, jojobear99, Rdsok

Locked
chiefnerd
Still here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:17 pm

Can´t get those plugins working

Post by chiefnerd » Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:23 pm

:oops:

It seems impossible to get your plugins working.

I´ve tried to put them in a directory named \plugins ...
I´ve tried with other directory names too ...
I´ve tried to put the filesdirectly in the PopTray directory ...

... but nothing helps !

Please !!! ... explain EXACTLY HOW I get these plugins to work for me !!!

I´m looking forward to get this little promising marvel to work, you know !

/chiefnerd

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Wed Oct 12, 2005 8:01 pm

Since you didn't indicate which plugin you're writing about...

Usually, you Double Click the Plugin.exe and it will CREATE a Plugins Directory in the PopTray Directory. If not, directly inside of the PopTray Directory create a new directory called Plugins. All Plugin files go in there.

Then in PopTray on the OPTIONS TAB, PLUGINS, check the box for the plugin you want to function.
SAVE OPTIONS, QUIT PopTray and RESTART for changes to take effect.

If you are using the SSL Plugin, you will have to make that selection in the PROTOCOL on the ACCOUNTS TAB.

The Hotmail Plugin doesn't work. It is outdated.
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

chiefnerd
Still here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:17 pm

No, it´s not working !

Post by chiefnerd » Wed Oct 12, 2005 8:42 pm

:?: :?: :?:

Thanks for your rapid answer ... BUT I´ve tried that now (again) and nothing shows up in the plugin window (even if I push on the F5 or Refresh via the menu).

I´ve a directory in the PopTray-directory called Plugins where I´ve placed all plugins.

What´s the problem ???

I have done exactly what the description told me to do. There must be a bug or something simple that I´ve missed ... but WHAT ???

/chiefnerd

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:33 pm

KY Dave wrote:Since you didn't indicate which plugin you're writing about...
It's hard to tell you what you need to do.

Are they zipped files that need unzipped?
Are they exe files or just what plugin are you trying to install and use??
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

chiefnerd
Still here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:17 pm

Post by chiefnerd » Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:59 pm

I´ve downloaded the POP3SSL plugin for instance - I want to keep an eye on my Gmail-account.

In that map I found these two files:

1) ProtocolPOP3SSL.dof
2) ProtocolPOP3SSL.dpr

I have copied these to the Plugins map, and in a desperate attempt to try to get this working, I´ve also copied these files to the main directory of PopTray (and these files are also in the POP3SSL-directory).

But ... NOTHING shows up in the applications Plugin-list !

/chiefnerd

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:04 pm

KY Dave wrote:The plugin is available at Source Forge, use the url below to find it...

http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... p_id=76783

or use the link below for a direct download after choosing your d/l site...

Download PopTrayPlugins_beta6.exe

Install the plugin, then enable the plugin in the PopTray OPTIONS TAB, PLUGINS.
SAVE OPTIONS, QUIT PopTray and RESTART.
Delete the files you mentioned.

Download the plugin using the above links and follow these directions...

Double CLick the PopTrayPlugins_beta6.exe file.
Install to PopTray Directory. It should automatically create Plugins Directory. If not point the installer to the directory you have created.

Start PopTray and on the OPTIONS TAB, PLUGINS, Check the box for POP3 with SSL or APOP
SAVE OPTIONS

In PopTray ACCOUNTS TAB, GMAIL ACCOUNT, PROTOCOL, select SSL
Use your full email address in small letters including domain -> chiefnerd@gmail.com
SAVE ACCOUNTS, QUIT PopTray and RESTART for changes to take effect.

You will have to LOGIN to GMAIL and ENABLE POP3 ACCESS. I also suggest changing a setting to ARCHIVE AFTER POP3 ACCESS.

Check your GMail account.

Enjoy!

Let me know your results.
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

chiefnerd
Still here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:17 pm

Post by chiefnerd » Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:28 pm

I´m almost there now ... almost !

Everything works perfectly until I save my account with POP3 SSL ...

then this window shows up:

"Access violation at address 011151F7 in module 'ProtocolPOP3SSL.dll´
Write of address 00000028"

I hope this is solvable after all your eminent support !

/chiefnerd

chiefnerd
Still here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:17 pm

Post by chiefnerd » Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:36 pm

:D :o :!: :o :) :lol: :D

IT WORKS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Despite several tests where I in fact did start it all over and got that error window again ... it suddenly decided that it should work !!!

So - many, many THANKS to you and your EMINENT SUPPORT !!!

I will try this interesting app carefully, and if it works as good as your support, I will recommend it to all my friends ... and put in some money on your account.

- THANKS AGAIN !

/chiefnerd

chiefnerd
Still here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:17 pm

Post by chiefnerd » Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:46 pm

:oops: :oops: :oops:

- Jikes !!!

When PopTray automatically looked for new email I received that error message (se above) again !!!

Ok, it´s a beta version, so I can live with that ... hopefully a stable release will be ready soon.


- Greetings !

/chiefnerd

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests