Bug with gmail plugin

Writing and using PopTray plug-ins

Moderators: KY Dave, jojobear99, Rdsok

Locked
ninarth
First Timer
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:00 pm

Bug with gmail plugin

Post by ninarth » Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:05 pm

Hi,
I try to use the gmail plugin but i have always an error!
Have you an idea?
Thanks!

Image

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:02 pm

The GMAIL PLUGIN is outdated. Development on it stopped when GMAIL enabled POP3 access. Below is a description on how to set up your account and PopTray to retrieve GMAIL using POP3.
KY Dave wrote:To check GMAIL accounts using POP3 you need to install the SSL Plugin.

The SSL Plugin is available at Source Forge, use the link below for a direct download after choosing your d/l site...

Download PopTrayPlugins_beta6.exe

Download the plugin using the above links and follow these directions...

Double CLick the PopTrayPlugins_beta6.exe file.
Install to PopTray Directory. It should automatically create Plugins directory. If not point the installer to the Plugins directory you have created.

Start PopTray and on the OPTIONS TAB, PLUGINS, Check the box for POP3 with SSL or APOP
SAVE OPTIONS

In PopTray ACCOUNTS TAB, GMAIL ACCOUNT, PROTOCOL, select SSL
Use your full email address in small letters including domain -> nicolas@gmail.com
SAVE ACCOUNTS, QUIT PopTray and RESTART for changes to take effect.

You will have to LOGIN to GMAIL and ENABLE POP3 ACCESS.
I also suggest changing a setting to ARCHIVE AFTER POP3 ACCESS.

Check your GMail account.
You can also check out using FreePOPS with PopTray in the thread linked below...

GMail, Hotmail, Yahoo & Other Web Mail Access
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

ninarth
First Timer
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:00 pm

Post by ninarth » Mon Dec 19, 2005 9:39 pm

Thanks for your help, but i've always this new problem!

Image

ninarth
First Timer
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:00 pm

Post by ninarth » Wed Dec 21, 2005 2:12 pm

no idea?

abhisys
First Timer
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 6:36 am
Location: New Delhi

You need to enable POP3 support

Post by abhisys » Sun Feb 05, 2006 6:40 am

This is because you have not enabled POP3 for your GMAIL account. Logon to your gmail account, click on Settings and then go to POP3 Access and Forwaeding tab.

Hope this helps.

Anil Goyal

ninarth
First Timer
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:00 pm

Post by ninarth » Sun Feb 05, 2006 12:16 pm

Thanks for your help but i'm not agree.
I recover my gmail mails with Thunderbird so my pop3 access is enable.
Ii think it's a bug of poptray

danielb
First Timer
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:25 pm

Post by danielb » Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:45 pm

I am using the plug-in beta6 with SSL.
I seem it works well.
Not simple POP3.
Why development is stopped ? I have not understood.

ymg_2000
First Timer
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:12 pm

Post by ymg_2000 » Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:15 pm

You activated the SSL plugin, but you forgot to enter the gmail server. It's: pop.gmail.com
YMG

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests