Connect Error:Plug-in Error:Forbidden

Writing and using PopTray plug-ins

Moderators: KY Dave, jojobear99, Rdsok

Locked
bfreddyd
First Timer
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:52 pm

Connect Error:Plug-in Error:Forbidden

Post by bfreddyd » Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:57 pm

I Keep getting this error with my hot-mail, Not very good with computers,Any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
Rdsok
PopTray Family
Posts: 1350
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 11:36 pm
Location: Norman, Oklahoma USA
Contact:

Post by Rdsok » Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:17 pm

The Hotmail plugin is no longer supported since Microsoft kept changing the required method to access it. Use FreePops or similar instead... see viewtopic.php?t=2469

bfreddyd
First Timer
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:52 pm

Post by bfreddyd » Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:13 pm

Thank-you

bfreddyd
First Timer
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:52 pm

Connect Error: Socket Error #10060: Connection timed out

Post by bfreddyd » Mon Dec 14, 2009 9:40 pm

Now, I'm using Poptray ver. 3.2 with freePOPs ver.0.2.9

MY account shows this;

Check mark on ENABLED
Name:Blair
Server:Hotmail.com
Protocol:POP3
Port:2000
Login:b-freddy-d@hotmail.com
Password:********

Keep getting the socket error #10060: Connection timed out.

After several attempts the Letter icon in my system tray disappears and I can't get it back without restarting.

Also under Plug-ins tab: The only one showing is my hotmail plugin which is not selected. But free pops is running in the system tray.( I'm thinking that part is ok)

Also how do I make FreePOPs automatically start during computer start up? I know this is a lot but I've invested a lot of time in trying to get this to work(No doubt due to my own idioticness. Thanks again.

User avatar
Rdsok
PopTray Family
Posts: 1350
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 11:36 pm
Location: Norman, Oklahoma USA
Contact:

Post by Rdsok » Tue Dec 15, 2009 2:48 am

That is a connection error..

Double check all your settings to ensure they are as recommended in Poptray/Freepop ( and your email client if using one )... make certain to give FreePop full access in your firewall.

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: Connect Error:Plug-in Error:Forbidden

Post by KY Dave » Wed Dec 23, 2009 4:08 am

bfreddyd wrote:I Keep getting this error with my hot-mail, Not very good with computers,Any help would be appreciated.
Use the POP3 with SSL or APOP Plug-in for PopTray (link below), install, enable, RESTART PopTray.

Download PopTrayPlugins_beta6.exe

Use pop3.live.com as your SERVER SETTINGS.

Choose POP3 SSL for PROTOCOL. That will automatically set your PORT - 995

Everything else is the normal settings that you have been using to access HOTMAIL.
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest