PopTray 3.0 (pre-beta 0.6)

General discussion about PopTray. You love it? You hate it? Talk about it here.

Moderators: KY Dave, jojobear99, Rdsok

User avatar
John
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 9:43 pm
Location: Lake Erie Islands, Ohio U.S.A.

Post by John » Mon Feb 17, 2003 10:48 pm

Renier wrote:Another thing I added but forgot to mention is the much requested "wait before first check" option. Should be handy for the DSL/Cable modem guys, I guess.
That works well. To start with I set it up First Wait to 30 seconds. Still, with the speed of this WireSpeed DSL modem and NetGear router, I brought it (First Wait) down to 5 seconds. Works good! :P
Last edited by John on Tue Feb 18, 2003 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
John

NAM ET IPSA
SCIENTIA POTESTAS EST
(Knowledge is Power)

OzGreg
Enthusiast
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 8:11 am

Post by OzGreg » Tue Feb 18, 2003 8:26 am

Renier wrote:
AdamGilchrist wrote:Or an option for nothing when it checks? For me, I'd be happy with nothing happening
Yes, maybe I can make it an option. Show checking or not.
Yes please, the star is very pretty but I like the idea of NOT having it showing even more, I rather just see I have mail or error messages, "progress" icons just get distracting..

User avatar
ilNebbioso
PopTray Family
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2002 10:30 am
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by ilNebbioso » Tue Feb 18, 2003 10:31 am

I agree with distracting concept...
(that's why I don't like the animated icon with number of new messages and opened envelope)
...but IMHO the rolling star doesn't distract me like the animated icon.
Please leave them as different options.

User avatar
Renier
Site Admin
Posts: 1957
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2001 12:54 pm
Location: Cape Town, South-Africa
Contact:

Post by Renier » Tue Feb 18, 2003 1:36 pm

ilNebbioso wrote:I found a little problem viewing stats: the window now is empty, without any data! :cry:
What stats window are you talking about?

User avatar
Renier
Site Admin
Posts: 1957
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2001 12:54 pm
Location: Cape Town, South-Africa
Contact:

Post by Renier » Tue Feb 18, 2003 1:37 pm

Bateman wrote:Do you already know when all the icons will have the same look and layout?
I'm not a graphic artist, so finding/modifying/creating the icons isn't too easy. If anybody can help, I would appreciate it.

User avatar
ilNebbioso
PopTray Family
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2002 10:30 am
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by ilNebbioso » Tue Feb 18, 2003 1:47 pm

The one you can see using the hotkey options... sorry in english is "show info"....

It seems now it shows only new messages, but I use this function just to see if I reached my mailbox limits....
Please note that I don't have flagged the "hide viewed messages" option, but it shows me only "new mail".

User avatar
Renier
Site Admin
Posts: 1957
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2001 12:54 pm
Location: Cape Town, South-Africa
Contact:

Post by Renier » Tue Feb 18, 2003 2:09 pm

If you need the old info, I suggest you switch off "advanced info".

User avatar
ilNebbioso
PopTray Family
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2002 10:30 am
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by ilNebbioso » Tue Feb 18, 2003 2:50 pm

:oops: ...
ehm...

ehmmmm....
Why did you change the look between normal and advanced show info??? ehmmmm...

:wink:

User avatar
Curtz
Priceless
Posts: 552
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2001 3:52 am
Location: A nice tree

Post by Curtz » Tue Feb 18, 2003 2:50 pm

REFRESH in the Plugins window diables the plugins... :)

NotifyKeyboardLights.dll is a 300+ kb file? A lot of code to make a LED blink? :oops:

User avatar
Renier
Site Admin
Posts: 1957
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2001 12:54 pm
Location: Cape Town, South-Africa
Contact:

Post by Renier » Tue Feb 18, 2003 3:17 pm

Curtz wrote:NotifyKeyboardLights.dll is a 300+ kb file? A lot of code to make a LED blink? :oops:
It's not the LED blinking code that is so big, but the options window. The moment you create a window in Delphi (using the forms unit), the file grows to that size.

User avatar
ilNebbioso
PopTray Family
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2002 10:30 am
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by ilNebbioso » Tue Feb 18, 2003 3:34 pm

No options available into plugin option window

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Tue Feb 18, 2003 3:54 pm

ilNebbioso wrote:No options available into plugin option window
You have to place the Plugins directory and files into your PopTray directory. Then when you restart PopTray they show up. :wink:

Renier,

There is a place in the rules to check for LOG RULE.
There is a place in the ADVANCED OPTIONS, MISC. to check for LOG RULES.

Can these be tied together so that if you check the LOG RULE in the RULES section it will automatically select LOG RULES in the ADVANCED OPTIONS, MISC. section? Or does it matter if they are both checked?
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

User avatar
ilNebbioso
PopTray Family
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2002 10:30 am
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

Post by ilNebbioso » Tue Feb 18, 2003 4:23 pm

I have the plugins folder which contains NotifyKeyboardLights.dll into PT fodler... but when I right-click the Plug-in Options the window is... empty, just with a frame and a "options" title...

Using the plugin I found the following problems:
* I'm unable to use ALT+TAB to switch between apps (the window on the screen disappears when blink turns on or off)
* it doesn't stop blinking also if I open PT (the only way is to exit from PT)

I don't remember if I posted before... the "remember viewed messages" between PT session doesn't remember anymore... :( I also tryed to delete the account*.ids, but it didn't work...

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Tue Feb 18, 2003 4:32 pm

The plugin doesn't seem to work at all on my system.

Is there a place to turn it on or off, if there is I can't find it?
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

User avatar
nicolas
Expert
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2001 4:54 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by nicolas » Wed Feb 19, 2003 3:19 am

Beta 6 runs well on my Windows 98!

I like the plugin! Will you provide a PT SDK? I could rewrite my little POPNotify as a PT plugin! :)
Toute utopie n'est pas impossible à réaliser...

User avatar
Renier
Site Admin
Posts: 1957
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2001 12:54 pm
Location: Cape Town, South-Africa
Contact:

Post by Renier » Wed Feb 19, 2003 7:29 am

The current Keyboard Lights plugin is just a sample to show programmers how to create a plugin. It doesn't have any options, but it has an option window as example.

Yes, nicolas, I will release the source-code of NotifyKeyboardLights, and I was hoping you would be interested in re-writing your POPNotify as a plugin.

It seems my flashing light also doesn't work on the one PC here (running WinNT). So what's the best way of doing it?

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Wed Feb 19, 2003 3:32 pm

Quosego might like to have the SDK also.

He has a nice program to read and analyze the log file.
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

User avatar
nicolas
Expert
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2001 4:54 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by nicolas » Thu Feb 20, 2003 12:58 am

Just have to simulate the keypress...
Toute utopie n'est pas impossible à réaliser...

User avatar
mpot
Fanatic
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 2:45 pm
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by mpot » Thu Feb 20, 2003 5:04 am

Renier wrote:The current Keyboard Lights plugin is just a sample to show programmers how to create a plugin. It doesn't have any options, but it has an option window as example.
I've found a minor bug relating to the plugins.

If I refresh the plugins list (either hit F5, or right-click -> refresh), the plugin is turned off.

Other than that, I'm certainly interested in seeing the source of the plugin ;-)

Cheers,
Martin.

User avatar
ilNebbioso
PopTray Family
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2002 10:30 am
Location: Milan, Italy
Contact:

.exe file attach

Post by ilNebbioso » Thu Feb 20, 2003 1:49 pm

I just tryed to open/save an .exe attach and I found the PT security notice! :o

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests