Problems with the first account in LAN

Found a serious/minor bug in PopTray? Tell me about it.

Moderators: KY Dave, jojobear99, Rdsok

Locked
TJF
Evolving
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 11:14 am
Location: Germany

Problems with the first account in LAN

Post by TJF » Tue Mar 08, 2005 11:20 pm

Hello,

nearly everytime poptray starts to check my four accounts, the first account couldn't be checked. I've changed the order of the accounts, but it is not any special account. It is always the first account. Workstation in DSL-LAN...

Any idea?

Thanks a lot!

Regards
Thomas

User avatar
Rdsok
PopTray Family
Posts: 1422
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 11:36 pm
Location: Norman, Oklahoma USA
Contact:

Post by Rdsok » Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:57 am

You would need to give some details for anyone to even venture a guess.

What is the error you get? Type of email accounts you are checking? System info etc.

TJF
Evolving
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 11:14 am
Location: Germany

Post by TJF » Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:41 pm

- Pop3 accounts (several, f.e.Tiscali.de)

- One W2K PC, 7 XP Pro PCs (from PIII-800 to P4-3,0GHz)

allways in DSL-LAN-network (2 different networks)...

I think program doesn't check existing connection at start.

Regards
Thomas

User avatar
lemming
Groupie
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 3:51 am
Location: Malaysia

Not connected yet?

Post by lemming » Fri Mar 18, 2005 1:34 pm

Are you connected to the Net before you launch PopTray? On some PCs, the DSL modem is configured to "dial up" only when there is Internet activity.

DSL modems connect quickly, but it still takes a few seconds to get on the Net. The delay may be enough to cause the PopTray error you described.

-Lemming

TJF
Evolving
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 11:14 am
Location: Germany

Post by TJF » Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:07 pm

No , I'm not connected before. It dials up... The delay is exactly the problem :-)

Regards
Thomas

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Fri Mar 18, 2005 3:03 pm

PopTray does not control the modem. You should start your dial-up procedure before doing an email check. You should also manually disconnect from the internet, as PopTray won't do that either.

In PopTray on the OPTIONS, ADVANCED OPTIONS, check the box for CHECK IF ONLINE.
SAVE OPTIONS, QUIT PopTray and RESTART for changes to take effect.
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

TJF
Evolving
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 11:14 am
Location: Germany

Post by TJF » Fri Mar 18, 2005 4:29 pm

Starting the dial-up procedure in LAN... :-) ?

Thank you, I've now checked the box for CHECK IF ONLINE and will try...

Regards
Thomas

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:44 pm

I don't know if that setting will help or not, I thought you were stating you had a dial up ISP.

I had never heard of a DSL-LAN dialing up. I have been using a DSL-WLAN and it's always connected.
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

TJF
Evolving
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 11:14 am
Location: Germany

Post by TJF » Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:14 pm

It seems, that the setting is the solution! DSL-LAN is not always connected with internet - only on demand (disconnecting if not needed).

Thanks a lot
Regards
Thomas

TJF
Evolving
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 11:14 am
Location: Germany

Post by TJF » Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:27 pm

Sorry, but the problem still exists. I think it's a timeout problem. Nearly every first time when windows started, the problem appears. In router control I can see, that it is only a little time, which causes the problem...

Thomas

User avatar
KY Dave
Not the Developer
Posts: 1599
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:29 pm
Location: Burkesville, KY. U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by KY Dave » Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:47 pm

If you are stating that when Windows starts then PopTray starts and checks before you DSL is connected...

then try this setting in PopTray, OPTIONS TAB, GENERAL OPTIONS, first check the box for CHECK FOR NEW MAIL AT STARTUP.

Then right below that, set PopTray to FIRST WAIT [60] SECONDS or longer if needed.

SAVE OPTIONS, QUIT PopTray and RESTART for changes to take effect.

But if you are stating that the DSL kicks out between checks and it happens every time PopTray does it's timed checks, this recommendation won't help. You could get a program to keep your connection active, that would be a way to avoid that problem.
KY Dave

Family Blog
You can STOP SPAM using PopFile and PopTray.

TJF
Evolving
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 11:14 am
Location: Germany

Post by TJF » Thu Apr 28, 2005 9:12 am

I still have all this settings :-)

Sometimes (!) it happens also between checks. After the demand of poptray the timeout is too short. I don't want to install a programm that pings uninterrupted, because the router should only connect if the connection is needed.

Regards
Thomas

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests