Page 1 of 1

Loss of all accounts - 3.2 b5 RC1

Posted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:58 pm
by larry
This is something no other user may ever come across. Whether or not this can actually be categorized as a PopTray bug is dubious at best. Still, i posted here because i think PopTray did something that it probably shouldn't have.

I installed :evil: Jetico Personal Firewall :evil: and i believe it was responsible for re-setting my system date in BIOS to 1999. Needless to say, i was hit with a barrage of unhanded exceptions and PopTray was among them. I got rid of Jetico and corrected the date in BIOS, but upon rebooting, all PopTray configurations were lost except for the "rules". I no longer have any accounts available. I wouldn't have even posted here except i really don't feel like entering all the accounts by hand. All the 'account_*.ids' files are there, but PopTray no longer sees them. I just reinstalled it so i may be wrong, but i think that poptray.ini was virtually empty after this problem occurred.

Q: is there a way to import the accounts and, if not, what is the format for entering the accounts in poptray.ini so the *.ids files will be recognized (hoping this will be quicker than re-entering all the accounts manually from the PopTray UI)?

Last but not least, PopTray is the best, bar NONE, email utility i have ever come across. I've been using it for years.

!!! Thanks Reiner !!!

Posted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 7:14 pm
by KY Dave
My guess is your 'outta luck' on this issue.

PopTray's ini has probably become corrupt, which happens a lot if Windows isn't SHUT DOWN properly.

The ids files are used by PopTray to identify what email has been received and notifications made. They don't contain account settings.

Before you 're-install' all of your accounts, please read the thread linked below...

viewtopic.php?t=2942

Following those instructions will help you avoid having to enter your accounts the next time something goes wrong in Windows or PopTray.

Posted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 7:40 pm
by larry
Yeah, i know what i should have done. Then there's what i didn't do :)
No biggy. I'll re-enter the accts. by hand and then create a batch script to automatically save a few incremented copies of the settings at logoff. Thanks for the super-quick reply!