Page 1 of 1

Windows Vista

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:30 am
by 3RR0r
I´ve used Poptray since a very long time with Windows XP without any problem. I love Poptray and cannot live without it :)
But now - changed System to Windows Vista and Poptray isn´t working anymore. I cannot use "Rightclick" on Poptray Icon in Systemtray.
Maybe Poptray doesnt support Windows Vista ?
Are there any other User with Vista and Poptray Problems ?

Hope there is any Hint or Update in the Future to get Poptray working with Windows Vista :)

regards

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:57 am
by Renier
Unfortunately I don't have Windows Vista to test with.

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 10:38 am
by Rdsok
These type of posts always amuse me... Vista officially released Jan 30 or 31st... 4 or 5 days ago... and a user that expects all programs to magically support a newly released OS... perhaps this user will purchase and donate a copy to Renier ( not to mention the hardware requirements to support it and an upgrade to Delphi that may also be required ).

@3RR0r

Sorry for having a little fun at your expense... but if you plan on using an OS that is this new... expect that the programs you also like and use to also take time to be updated to work on these OS's also. If you plan to operate on the bleeding edge... expect at the least some minor cuts.

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:25 pm
by 3RR0r
No Problem, i can wait :)

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 12:28 am
by mpot
Rdsok wrote:These type of posts always amuse me... Vista officially released Jan 30 or 31st... 4 or 5 days ago...
Actually, the RTM (release to manufacturing) version was available to MSDN subscribers at the end of November last year already.

I have had it running in VMware since then, to allow me to test applications that I have written.

However, I have had similar experiences - plenty of people wanting to know why software isn't supported in Vista, when it has been recently released ;-)

Cheers,
Martin.

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 2:08 am
by Rdsok
mpot wrote:I have had it running in VMware since then, to allow me to test applications that I have written.
Darn... you just made me have to double my memory budget... now I have to plan to get at least 2 Gb of memory... 1 for Windows and 1 for my VM... :lol:

Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 10:06 pm
by tpm
I believe 3RR0r was asking a legitimate question. At what precise time should he have asked if PopTray was compatible with Vista?? another week, month, 6 months? I didn't find the timeline in asking about new operating systems anywhere in my Poptray user manual.
Lets all just lighten up and enlighten!

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 1:32 am
by mpot
tpm wrote:I believe 3RR0r was asking a legitimate question. At what precise time should he have asked if PopTray was compatible with Vista?? another week, month, 6 months? I didn't find the timeline in asking about new operating systems anywhere in my Poptray user manual.
And Reiner responded by saying he doesn't have Vista to test with...

Has anyone else tried PopTray on Vista yet?

Cheers,
Martin.

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 8:28 am
by 3RR0r
Tested Poptray on another Vista System - i´m sad to tell ya it isnt working :(
A view other proggies like popman or pop peeper are working very well, but i prefer Poptray :)

We´ve to wait for an Update ! But no problem, Poptray is worth to be waiting for.

regards

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 7:31 pm
by CapFan
Good day folks,


I have installed Windows Vista Ultimate. Poptray 3.2 loaded without incident. The application runs fine.

I was able to add my account information, which tested successfully. The popup notification displays my number of messages waiting. I am able to view messages, and correctly see their header information. I am also able to preview messages in the same manner as always. Finally, PopTray launches my Email application (Outlook 2007) just fine.


For those saying that PopTray does not work with Vista, exactly what issues are you having?

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:13 pm
by tpm
Nice to know Capfan. Thanks

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:57 am
by 3RR0r
All back friends, it was my fault :(

I´ve installed Poptray over an old Version and maybe that was the error.

Installed a fresh poptray and its working like a charm :)

Sorry sorry sorry !


regards

Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 4:58 pm
by Renier
It might be related to the .customize file, or something similar.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2007 1:16 am
by mpot
What sort of issues were being experienced with PopTray on Vista?

The fact that PopTray uses the c:\program files\poptray\ directory for storing configuration files will certainly cause issues on Vista, as user does not have write access to anything under c:\program files\, and hence PopTray will not be able to write to the poptray.ini file (or any other files in that directory, including temporary files, such as the temp.eml file).

The workaround is to move the poptray.ini file into %appdata%\poptray\, and specify this location as a cmd line parameter for PopTray.

However, that won't resolve any issues with PopTray's temporary files...

Cheers,
Martin.

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2007 2:16 am
by KY Dave
Renier wrote:It might be related to the .customize file, or something similar.
mpot wrote:The workaround is to move the poptray.ini file into %appdata%\poptray\, and specify this location as a cmd line parameter for PopTray.

However, that won't resolve any issues with PopTray's temporary files...
"C:\Program Files\PopTray\PopTray.exe" "%USERPROFILE%"
or "C:\Program Files\PopTray\PopTray.exe" "%HOMEDRIVE%%HOMEPATH%"
Would setting up PopTray as a MULTI-USER with the COMMAND LINE, take care of those issues in Vista?

If so, a STICKY to explain it to Vista users could be posted.

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:58 pm
by Ted M
Using Vista Home Premium, my PopTray would not work either.

I uninstalled, and deleted the C:\Program Files\Poptray files in Safe Mode.

Reinstalled to C:\Poptray

All works fine now.

Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 9:54 am
by Susanne
Poptray works fine with my Vista, but not all the time. :( Often I get this error:
Access violation at address 015D5138. Read of address 015D5138
When I restart Poptray,everything worksfine for some time. But I can't restart it every 30 Minutes. :(

Posted: Sun Sep 30, 2007 10:00 am
by GrrRon
If you give Poptray administrative rights in Vista, it works as before as in Windows XP.