Help starting out with a new Notification Plugin

Writing and using PopTray plug-ins

Moderators: KY Dave, jojobear99, Rdsok

AlexV
Still here

Help starting out with a new Notification Plugin

Post by AlexV » Fri Mar 11, 2005 9:34 pm

Hello all!

I want to start work on a notification plugin, but I could use some help kicking off, and I was hoping here would be the place to ask.

First off, a bit about the plugin I want to write: the idea is for a very simple notification plugin that will simply report the number of emails (as displayed on the taskpane icon) to an external LCD display, using LCD Smartie. I will work out how to communicate to that either as or through a separate plugin later, first I want to get notifications from PopTray working properly.

OK, some info about me, now: I am a competent VB and C# developer, but have only rudimentary knowledge of C++. I have no knowledge of Delphi.

So, what I am looking for is a start for a Notification plugin in C++, as neither VB nor C# will be capable of producing the DLL with export functions that is required to be a plugin. I have tried the C++ framework download, but I couldn't get it to work for notifications. Is there some sort of stripped down basic notification plugin code that I could use available anywhere?

Something like the KeyboardLights plugin in C++ would be perfect, looking at the source to that it seemed simple to start from. Unfortunately I don't have a copy of Delphi, or I would have used that and started from KeyboardLights instead!

Any help getting started with this would be greatly appreciated. I think once I can get something that I can compile that will, for example, pop up a message box displaying the message count every time it changes, I will be in a good position to get communication with LCD Smartie working.

Thanks,

Alex

jskinner
Groupie

Post by jskinner » Fri Mar 11, 2005 10:18 pm